You’re probably up to your ears trying to adjust to the new restrictions in Aotearoa, and might be wondering whether the MPTT programme will continue during the lockdown period. We wanted to let you know the answer is yes. 

Keep an eye on this page for updates, and follow us on Facebook and Instagram to stay in the loop. We’ll also be sharing information about the MPTT programme and how Covid-19 might impact our trainees and graduates, including what financial assistance you might be entitled to.

Like everyone else, we’re changing how we work to help stop the spread of Covid-19. But these changes won’t stop our programme. Instead, we’ll be delivering some of our services in a different way.


  • On Monday March 23, we closed our office at MIT Otara and started working from our homes instead. So we’ll still be here to help you throughout New Zealand’s lockdown period, and you’ll be able to contact us as normal. We’ve included a list of contacts below. 

  • MPTT events such as our Whakawhanaungatanga Day, Power Up Wananga, Awhi sessions, ‘Work Readiness Wananga’ or trades Induction visits have been postponed until we return to our normal operations. 

  • The Learner Support Fund and Tools Kete support is still available – just contact our navigators or us at the Project Management Office.

The Covid-19 pandemic is serious, and our priority is keeping our MPTT whānau and community safe by doing our part to stop the spread of the virus. We know this is uncharted territory, so there might be situations that need an out-of-the-ordinary response. If you need anything done and think we’ll be able to help, please get in touch.  We’re in this together, and it’s a time for saying yes and helping each other.


You can get up-to-date information on New Zealand’s response on COVID-19 (coronavirus) at www.Covid19.govt.nz


How to get in touch

MPTT PROJECT MANAGEMENT OFFICE

Sam Sefuiva 0274 772 086 sam.sefuiva@maoripasifikatrades.co.nz

Shelley Riley 022 305 6924 shelley.riley@maoripasifikatrades.co.nz

MPTT NAVIGATORS

John Chapman and team at Kaea Consultants (Hami, Chris, Karetai & Danyon)  john@kaeaconsultantsltd.com

Martin Hiki at Skills4Work  m.hiki@skills4work.org.nz

Tony Atina at NZMA Trades  tony.atina@acgedu.com

MPTT TRAINING AND TRADES PARTNERS

KIWA Education  Betty Andersen 021 593 568 betty@kiwa.ac.nz

MIT  Naomi Tito 022 068 9290 naomi.tito@manukau.ac.nz

NZMA Trades  Tony Atina  tony.atina@acgedu.com

Oceania Career Academy  Debra Robertson-Welsh Debra.Robertson-Welsh@oca.nz

Skills4Work  Tamai Roff 027 494 8338 t.roff@skills4work.org.nz 

Te Wānanga o Aotearoa  Tony Gomwe 027 612 4383 tony.gomwe@twoa.ac.nz 

Unitec  Toetu Nu’uali’itia 021 902565 tnuualiitia@unitec.ac.nz

BCITO Doug Leef 027 702 8372 douglas.leef@bcito.org.nz

Competenz Reg Currin 027 474 4665 r.currin@competenz.org.nz 

Hawkins Group Yems Parsonage 022 015 7609 Yems.Parsonage@hawkins.co.nz 

MITO Jodi Franklin 027 554 4472 jodi.franklin@mito.org.nz 

ServiceIQ Caro Anderson 027 229 3163 caro.anderson@ServiceIQ.org.nz

 
Skills.Org Theresa Rongonui   021 636 359 Theresar@skills.org.nz

MPTT MANAWHAKAHAERE

Issac Liava’a 021 432353

Tuwhakairiora (Tu) Williams 027 7899891

YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE